Logos of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture and the Aga Khan Musin Awards

Sultanate of Oman to Host the 2022 Aga Khan Music Awards and Aga Khan Award for Architecture Between October 29-31

The material in this post has been compiled from the official websites of the Ministry of Information of the Sultanate of Oman — see link to October 23 story “HH Sayyid Theyazin to Patronize over Aga Khan Award Distribution Ceremony on 31 October” — and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN). Please visit the Music Awards and Architecture Awards pages at AKDN.

Map of Oman
Map of the Sultanate of Oman, shaded white (2016), surrounded by Saudi Arabia, UAE and Yemen. The Gulf of Oman separates the Sultanate from the Islamic Republic of Iran. Credit: Perry-Castañeda Library, Map Collection, University of Texas.

The 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture and Aga Khan Music Awards

His Highness Sayyid Theyazin bin Haitham Al Said, Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth, will preside over the distribution of Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) at the Royal Opera House Muscat (ROHM) on October 31, 2022. The AKAA on June 2, 2022, announced 20 shortlisted projects for the 15th edition of the Award cycle. The projects will compete for a share of the US$ 1 million prize, one of the largest in architecture. The 20 shortlisted projects were selected by an independent Master Jury from a pool of 463 projects nominated for the 15th Award Cycle (2020-2022).

The event marks the 45th anniversary of the award, which was established by Mawlana Hazar Imam, His Highness the Aga Khan, in 1977. The first AKAA ceremony was held in 1980 at the Shalimar Gardens in Lahore, Pakistan.

The ceremonies, scheduled at the ROHM, will be held in the presence of ministers, undersecretaries, a selection of Omani architects and musicians and about 250 international guests — in addition to members of the Awards Steering Committee, the jury, candidates and winners of the Architecture and Music Awards.

Aga Khan Gardens Edmonton Talar building showcasing Aga Khan Award for Architecture entries
Nurin Merchant poses in front of the Talar Building during her visit in August 2022 to the Aga Khan Gardens in Edmonton. Twenty shortlisted projects for the 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were beautifully showcased on Talar’s large pillars. Photograph: Malik Merchant/Simerg.

Coinciding with the presentation of the AKAA will be the award ceremony for the 2nd edition of the Aga Khan Music Awards. The Aga Khan Awards for Music was established in 2018 by Mawlana Hazar Imam and is administered by a Steering Committee co-chaired by Mawlana Hazar Imam and his younger brother Amyn Aga Khan.

This is the first time that two award ceremonies are being held together at one location. The distribution of the music awards will be attended in a number of related events by His Highness Sayyid Bilarab bin Haitham Al Said and His Highness Sayyid Kamil bin Fahd Al Said.

Aga Khn Music Awards
Laureates of the 2022 Aga Khan Music Awards. Photograph: AKDN.

Sayyid Said bin Sultan Al Busaidi, Undersecretary of the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Youth for Culture gave the following statement: “The distribution of the Aga Khan Awards for Architecture and Music 2022 in the Sultanate of Oman offers a variety of opportunities to academic researchers, musicians and architects. It will enable them to learn about new and outstanding areas highlighted by the awards. It will allow them to be in touch with winners from different countries of the world and the protocols associated with the awards. It will also expand the Omani cultural scene integration with various countries of the world and consolidate social awareness about participation in these international awards. The hosting of the events provides a true manifestation of Oman’s vision to become a destination for art, literature and culture.”

Busaidi further added that the follow-up of the event via media platforms will highlight Oman’s economic and scholarly domains, thus achieving one of the most important pillars of the country’s cultural strategy, which targets cultural openness to the world and the global propagation of the Omani cultural identity.

Date posted: October 24, 2022.
Last updated: October 25, 2022 (external links added, see below)


Related articles:

For explanations of the two logos featured at top of this post, please visit:

1. Barakah: Logo of the Aga Khan Music Awards, and
2. Simerg: Logo of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture

For news reports and other related articles on the Aga Khan Awards, please visit:

1. The Ismaili: In Conversation with Farrokh Derakhshani, Director of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture;
2. Times of Oman: For first time, AKAA and Aga Khan Music Awards to be celebrated in one country; and
3. Muscat Daily: Muscat to host AKAA



Simerg welcomes your feedback. Your email will not be shown, and you may choose to remain anonymous. Please click Leave a comment. Your letter may be edited for length and brevity and is subject to moderation.


Before departing this website please take a moment to visit Simerg’s Table of Contents for links to almost 2000 pieces published since the website was created in 2009. Also visit Simerg’s two sister websites Barakah, dedicated to His Highness the Aga Khan, and Simergphotos. Barakah’s editor may be reached at mmerchant@simerg.com. Malik may be followed @Facebook and @Twitter.